Kalpataru Tree :: All Things Passing

Here’s a new release from Chillography favorite, and previous guest, Kalpataru Tree. Curtis fuses lush, organic textures, with dreamy dubscapes to create a unique blend that is sure to please all psydub fans.

Preview the 7-track album with the player below, and buy it in your format of choice for only $5. At that price, by this artist, this album is a must own.

Read More

Crispy :: Psilicon Dreams 8 (June 2010)

Here’s the June 2010 installment of Psilicon Dreams, my monthly mix of psychedelic downtempo electronica for DI.FM’s Psychill channel. For this month, I’ve assembled a solid set of psybient masterpieces. Highlights include a brand new cut from Phutureprimitive, a forgotten favorite from Infected Mushroom (that happens to mix perfectly with said Phutureprimitive track), and one of Ott’s best to end the set on a high note.

Like what you hear? Let me know! And don’t forget you can grab all off the past Psilicon Dreams mixes from my downloads page. You can also subscribe to the Splendid Beats Podcast and never miss another splendid download!

Tune in every second Saturday at 9am US PST/12pm US EST/5pm UK/18:00 Central Europe to catch the newest episode.

Download » Crispy – Psilicon Dreams 8 (June 2010) (1hr 16min, 175MB)

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Tracklist ::
01. Lauge & Baba Gnohm – Structures
02. Kick Bong – Pure Love
03. Rena Jones – Helix (EVAC remix)
04. Cell – Risky Nap Under the Blue Tree
05. Androcell – Vital Signs
06. Cord – Zodiac
07. Phutureprimitive – Burn feat. Alyssa Palmer (Phutureprimitive Rmx)
08. Infected Mushroom – Drop Out
09. Liquid Soul – The Ritual (Lenny Ibizarre Remix)
10. Tripswitch – Exiled
11. Entheogenic – Absolute Love
12. Unstable Elements – Seasons
13. Ott – A Shower of Sparks

(When possible, I link out to any free net releases that I’ve used in the set. If you like what you hear, follow the linked tracks, download them, and support the artists with your love!)

Read More

Phutureprimitive :: Luminous EP

Finally! Some fresh new music from northwest psychill hero, and Chillography favorite, Phutureprimitive. Out today is the Luminous EP, containing three new(ish) tracks. I say “newish” because it seems like Rain has been dropping these tracks in his sets for a while, and it’s nice to finally have my own copies to play out. Style-wise, fans of his first album and subsequent compilation contributions will recognize that signature Phutureprimitive moody atmosphere and delicious bass lines. What’s new is the addition of lyrical vocals in the forefront of the mix as the new driving force for each track. These lyrics, by Alyssa Palmer and Rain, have been tastefully edited and are seamless additions to the already lush Phutureprimitive soundscape. Vocals of this caliber seem to be tricky to find in this kind of electronica, and Rain pulls it off. My gut tells me that some old fans will not be so into this new lyrical direction, but it will most certainly open up his music to an even wider audience. With Phutureprimitive now performing as a full band, this new direction should be not much of a surprise, and thankfully, in Rain’s capable hands the vocals and music continue to push the mature downtempo vibe that first caught the world’s ear six years ago.

<a href="http://phutureprimitive.bandcamp.com/album/luminous-ep">Luminous (Original Mix) by Phutureprimitive</a>

Read More